Duplicate SSRS reports [Dynamics AX 2012]

Friends,

We all know that we will have requirements to modify an existing SSRS report but would not like to alter the original, rather create a duplicate and work on it.

But, Do we have the option in AX 2012? The answer is “NO” and it’s a real problem/hectic job for a developer to create it from scratch. Even when we try to do this from visual studio 2010, it is not allowed to change the report name as it says it exists in another layer.

Well, I have created a utility to duplicate the SSRS reports from AX. It works all fine and gets built successfully and was able to render the data as well. Once the report is duplicated, you can change the design in Visual studio.

[Note: I have posted a recent article on Duplicating SSRS with the help of wizard with all its artifacts (DP classes, Contract, UIBuilder and CSharp project)] – Here is the link

This really helps the developer in not creating the DP classes, contract classes etc. and can customize the existing DP classes by adding the new fields in temp tables.

Below is them new utility walk through:

Go to Tools >> Business Intelligence Tools >> Create duplicate SSRS reports

image

This will open all existing SSRS reports in the picker

image

Select any report : a new dialog will open with the new report name as “CopyOf” select report Name, you can modify the report name here
based on your requirements.Click on Ok button.

image

A new report gets created in SSRS reports as shown below

image

Nice right! Now lets us open this in Visual studio 2010 and you can play with the design.

You can see the new report in the Application Explorer as shown below:

image

Add this report to your project and build it. It builds successfully and is ready for preview as well.

image

Interested ones, please shoot me an email. I will send the XPO.

[I got some requests to even duplicate DP, Contract, UIBuilder and Controller classes. I am working on it. I will post the same soon]

Happy Dax6ng,

sree

65 Responses to “Duplicate SSRS reports [Dynamics AX 2012]”

  1. wojzeh Says:

    looks really interesting! could I get your project, please?

  2. Helen Fay Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Could you please send me a copy of this .xpo with instructions?

  3. ansartroops Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    I need the Customized XPO can u pls fwd to ansartroops@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    Ansar Basha.S

  4. Zhang Jianxin Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    It is valuable to developer, please send me a copy of this XPO project. thanks.
    Email: zhjx99@yahoo.com.sg

    Thank you.
    JX

  5. Rashmi Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    I need the XPO…can u please forward it to trivedy.rashmi@gmail.com

    Thanks

  6. kishore Says:

    please send the XPO file to masina.kishore@gmail.com

  7. Aman Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    I need the XPO…can u please forward it to aman.san88@gmail.com

    Thanks in advance

  8. Kanagu Says:

    please send XPO file to kanagaraj.alagar@gmail.com

  9. Isaac Says:

    Hi, how can I get the xpo?

  10. vikas Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to mehtavikas99@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    vikas Mehta

  11. Seng Chai Gan Says:

    Hi can I get your XPO?

    Many Thanks.

  12. Saisharan Says:

    Could you please send me the xpo …

  13. Dagmar Tegeler Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file.
    Thank you very much!
    Dagmar

  14. Srikanth Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Can you please send the xpo to shrikanth_ks@rediffmail.com.

    Many Thanks.

    Srikanth

  15. Anand Says:

    Gr8 Job. Please share the project please

  16. Ed Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Can you please send the xpo to edoloto@gmail.com.

    Many Thanks.

  17. Ayoub HALIB Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    I need the XPO…can u please forward it to me. “a.halib@yahoo.fr”

    Thanks

  18. naveen Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to naveen.dax@gmail.com

  19. priyanka Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    I need the XPO…can u please forward it to sayhipriyanka@gmail.com

    Thanks in advance

  20. kaurn Says:

    Please can you share this project ..

  21. kaurn Says:

    can you please share this project …

  22. Sainath Satelli Says:

    hi sir,

    pl send me that XPO for duplicating ssrs , send me @ sainath.satelli@gmail.com .

  23. Sachin Kumar Says:

    Can u please send me xpo to tomarsachin87@hotmail.com

    Regards,
    Sachin Kumar

  24. Raj Says:

    hi Raj,
    please send the XPO file to daxtechnical@gmail.com

  25. John Says:

    Please can you send it to me.

  26. rahul Says:

    Hi srinath ,
    can you please send this xpo to rahulax@hotmail.com

  27. Raji Says:

    hello, it is wounderful
    can you please send me the XPO to r.aoun@mindset.com.lb

  28. Ramyakrishna Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to ramya.dynamics@gmail.com

    Thanks,
    RamyaKrishna

  29. RandyP Says:

    I would like to have a copy of that xpo..thank you

  30. chris Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    can you please send me the xpo file

  31. Edwin Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    That’s great for ax new hand. Can you please send me the xpo file edwinchoi0410@gmail.com
    Many thanks.!!

  32. Doug Says:

    can I get a copy of the xpo as well? dsk1122@att.net

  33. Doug Says:

    Can I also get a copy of the xpo file? Thanks!

  34. Shivaram Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Can you please send ne the xpo file. I really appreciate.

    My email address is shivaram@dotsolved.com.

    Thanks in advance,

    Shivaram

  35. zacky Says:

    Could you send me also the xpo : zackdaych@freemail.hu

  36. Muzzamil Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    can you please send me the xpo file

  37. Wilbert Says:

    Hi, nice feature.
    Could you send me a copy to wbetanzos@growitc.com

    Thanks a lot

  38. Martin Mikes Says:

    Hello Sreeenath
    May I please for this xpo also? email is martin.mikes@circon.cz

  39. deni Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    can you please send me the xpo file

    Thank you so much

    deni

  40. Dicky Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file

  41. Kim Lee Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Please forward xpo to kylee88@gmail.com. Thanks

  42. Mark Billy Says:

    could you send me this tool, I really need this kinda tool. Really appreciate it. (mail to; mark.salendu@outlook.com)
    Thanks a lot.

  43. Peterson Wambugu Says:

    Kindly send me the xpo to pwambugu2013@gmail.com
    thanks.

  44. Nicolás Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to nbergoglio@hotmail.com
    Thanks,

  45. lee Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Kindly send me the xpo to lee_poo20@yahoo.com
    i really need this kind tools.
    thanks.

    Thanks

  46. Sunny Says:

    Can you please send me the XPO to sunnykiran2000@gmail.com
    Thanks in advance.

  47. Nitin Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to nitin_s@sablesystems.com.au

    Thanks very much,
    Nitin

  48. Alok Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to leo_das@hotmail.com. I am in real need of this kind of tool.

    Thank you,
    Alok

  49. Klemens Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me xpo to klimasjakub@gmail.com

    Regards

  50. Fran Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Please, Can you send me the xpo file to fco.a.serrano@gmail.com?

    Thank you very much.

  51. ngumma Says:

    Sreenath,

    This is really interesting. Could you please send me the xpo? my address is ngumma@gmail.com

    Thank you

  52. Pankaj Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Would you pls mind sending to ‘pgupta82@gmail.com’ as well.

    Thanks in advance.
    PG

  53. Brian Says:

    Hello Sreenath,

    Could you please send me the XPO?

    Thank you
    Brian
    cyberkinser@yahoo.com

  54. Pratap Raj Says:

    Hi Sreenath,

    Can you please send the xpo to raj4279@gmail.com.

    Many Thanks.

  55. Muhammet Says:

    Hi Sreenath,
    Can you please send me the xpo file to muhammetademoglu@hotmail.com

    Thanks in advance.

  56. San Says:

    Hi Sri,

    Please send me this xpo, email: sanax6@gmail.com

  57. Victor Says:

    Hi Sreenath;

    Can you please send me the xpo file to tolish_@hotmail.com

    Thanks,
    Regards,

    Victor

  58. nicole@garatisolutions.com Says:

    Hi!
    Can you please also send me the XPO Nicole@garatisolutions.com

    Thanks so much!
    Nicole


Leave a Reply

